General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Question about adjusting valves.

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2006, 05:22 AM
Default Question about adjusting valves.

I've never done it before. I'm no expert mechanic, but I have worked on cars before. Always with a manual guiding me. Is this a fairly doable job or is it better to take it to the mechanic? A few warnings in the manual give me reservations about doing myself.

What can I expect to pay at the mechanic? (Dealer)

Old 12-27-2006, 10:41 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Question about adjusting valves.

You should be paying about 350-500 depending on where you are and how many if any valves need to be adjusted.

Checking them will be no problem if you have some machanical skill.

Replaceing shims and the then gettin g the timing reset is prety hard, scale of 1-10 it is a 8-9.

Good luck.

Old 12-27-2006, 10:46 PM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

Anything on a bike can be a DIY. Search the forums, ask questions, follow the manual and have the proper tools. Sometimes getting the proper tools will cost you half or more than to just take her in. But you will have the tools to do it next time. Always pros and cons depending on your expectations and if you planned on doing it again.

Old 01-05-2007, 07:43 AM
1st Gear Member