General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

POWER LOSS

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2007, 01:05 PM
Default POWER LOSS

Hello all,
I've got a78 KE175. Thing works pretty good and I've done some work on it, but I'm no pro, least of all when it comes to the engine. The problem I'm having is occassionally after going into gear and giving it some gas, it will will lag, as if it's not getting enough gas, and just about stall out. I can save it by letting off the gas, but I've got to play with the throttle a little bit to keep itmoving.I've done this when the engine is nice and warm and sometimes cold, just to see and it's the same either way. I've also just played with the throttle when in neutral, but there's seems to be no problem there, only when the bike is in gear. I've got the handbook/manual, though it's a little old, and I can't really find any info pertaining to this. I have not adjusted the throttle cable, as this problem is fairly new and it seems to be OK in neutral, though that may have nothing to do with it. Should I make this adjustment or is there something else I'm missing here? The bike is a 2 stroke, with an auto oil inject system. Thanks for any help.

Old 12-02-2007, 01:49 PM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member
Default RE: POWER LOSS

Are you sure it's not the clutchletting your 1st gear engage a bitand putting a "load" on your engine? Try adjusting your clutch just a tick.

Old 12-02-2007, 01:51 PM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member

Welcome to KF, by the way.

Old 12-10-2007, 03:14 AM
1st Gear Member

if your carbs are out of sync, or the jets, or needle,have worn to the point to where they don't effectively meter fuel correctly, that typically causes fuel starvation under load. that would explain why it doesn't act stupid whilst in neutral. fuel management problems always rear their ugly head under load.