General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

How To Lower A Zx9r The Right Way?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2010, 08:13 PM
Default How To Lower A Zx9r The Right Way?

ok, i have a 98 zx9r. i took it to the drag strip for the first time the other day.. just got the bike like a month and a half ago, so pretty new to riding, only got about 3500 miles under my belt. well i ran, 12.0 at 120 letting out to early, and got it to a 11.1 at 128 on my 4th run, then ran out of time, my 60fts were terrible best being a 2.05. most the bikes i saw had different sprockets on them, and were cutting 1.6-1.8s. i am not good at launching it, was bogging it to much and didnt slip it enough. i plan to go -1,+3 on the bike and then lower it to help from coming up. i was wondering how much i should lower it? its a daily drivin bike also, so i dont want it completely on the ground or anything, just enough to really help me out. how do you lower a bike the right way and not half ***, and how low is still street able?

Old 04-12-2010, 11:35 PM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member