General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Can't max out in 6th gear...

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2006, 12:23 AM
Default Can't max out in 6th gear...

Hello everyone,
I am going to be purchasing a 2001 ZX6R from a private seller. The bike has the usual few scratches on the left side and whatnot... anyway, i have a small concern about the bike though. I would like to get some opinions from the "TECH" people around, before i shell out any money for the bike.

This is what the Seller says:
...the previous owner put an exhaust on the bike and did not rejet the bike. i have spent 500 bucks on a new jet kit and another 400 bucks in tune up. as of right now...the bike runs great from 1 to 5th gear, but it still needs some minor adjustment on the jet kit in order to max out in six gear, so you can ride it in 6 gear up to 7k rpm...
...i am NEW to riding so i dont have much knowledge about bikes. I would like to know if this is a normal problem to have (because the bike was not RE-Jettet originally), or if something MORE damaging could be present (from riding in this condition). The rider promisses that everything is OK except for the 6th gear max-out issue, and says he will give me ALL the time i want to test ride it around for a while!

Should i be concerned about this? Should i still buy it and just get a stock exhaust for it? or should i just take it to a shop and have them fix the problem?

P.S. The seller is very cooperative and provided me with everything i asked for, quickly (ie: VIN #, close-up pics, pic of the ODO...and more). He seems to be a good guy, but you never know when dealing with private sellers![sm=smiley2.gif]

Old 08-02-2006, 01:02 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Can't max out in 6th gear...