General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Bike running to hot with a high idle...HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2007, 02:40 AM
Default Bike running to hot with a high idle...HELP!

Ok, my name is Jeff. I just started riding street bikes and I need a little direction. I picked up a '82 LTD440 belt drive and I'm having trouble with the engine. It sat for about 4-5 years, I took the carb's apart and cleaned the jets out, then it started to run great. Now I've been riding it for about 3 months and it started to run real hot and idling at about 5500 rpm. I tried changing the oil and filter again to see if that was the problem, but it still over-heats. I have no idea what's going on with this bike, I don't want to put a bunch of money into this thing by rebuilding the motor. If theres anyone who can help, PLASE!!! I'm begging. Thank you =) Jeff

Thank you for all the ideas, but I guess I forgot to say some stuff. It's air cooled, I changed all the fluids and it's stock as hell. I'm going to look at all the other stuff and thank you again.

Old 07-27-2007, 04:14 AM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Bike running to hot with a high idle...HELP!

Welcome Jeff. (Cool name!)