General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Battery Charging / Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 04:50 PM
Default Battery Charging / Replacement

Hi everyone, newbie here.

My bike: '05 Ninja 636 - bought new, owned nearly 3 years, 12K miles

Issue: Until this past November my bike had never gone more than a week or so between rides (lived in Florida and rode year round). Now I live up in the DC area and my bike has been sitting in my garage for the last 3 months or so in it's first true winter. Obviously, the battery is dead and the bike won't start. (And before everyone asks, no, I didn't "winterize" it at all, but I'll just claim not knowing any better as this is my first motorcycle.)

I downloaded the service manual off the forum and borrowed a friend's trickle charger, and began working to get to the battery. My question is, do I really have to completely remove the gas tank just to charge it? That seems like overkill just for my purposes. I can of course see the battery once I remove the front seat and side panels, but only the negative terminal is accessible. I really don't want to have to deal with fuel spillage. Being three years old am I probably going to have to replace the battery anyway?

Note on my mechanical ability: I know it sounds bad, but I'm one of those guys who takes their bike to the dealer for maintenance every few K miles, and I've never done anything more advanced then changing the oil and filter. I don't feel I'm mechanically retarded, but if I don't know what I'm doing then I'm very timid about trying to do it myself (especially considering that simply riding my ninja is dangerous enough as it is without me potentially screwing something up that could result badly).

Thanks for any advice in advance.

Steven

Old 03-20-2008, 01:19 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Battery Charging / Replacement