General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1996 ZX6R Issues, losing power on rides

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 01:15 AM
Default 1996 ZX6R Issues, losing power on rides

Hello,

I am new to sportbikes, and I just bought a 1996 ZX6R from a local guy. The bike ran perfect when I test rode it and he said that there hadnt been any issues that he noticed.

I went out today on a short ride and about 15mins into it the bike randomly lost all power when I was in 2nd gear...I had to drift to a stop and shut off then restart the bike to get her running again. I rode her back home after, and had no issues.

Then I went out again this evening and the same thing happened in 3rd gear. Was riding fine, opened the throttle a bit and lost all power. Stopped, restarted and she ran fine.

Im not sure what RPM range I was in because the guy removed the stock speedo and tacho, so he could install an aftermarket speedo. The first time I believe I was going about 35mph and the second time I was going closer to 50mph. It seems to happen right when I start to open the throttle to accelaterate.

Any information on what this might be would be very helpful. If I need to take it in to a mech then I will, but I would perfer to fix it myself if it isnt something to complex.

Thank you all in advance!

Old 05-09-2011, 01:48 AM
1st Gear Member

Could be anything from the carb to bad fuel, pinched fuel line, fuel filter, floats, vents, etc. I'd pull it apart and clean the carbs, if you just bought it it probably needs it anyway, even if thats not your problem. Chances are that will cure it or you will find the issue while you're in there. Could also try riding with the gas tank poped open to see if its the vents.

Welcome to KF!

Old 05-12-2011, 02:26 AM