General Motorcycle Discussion Have some questions or information about riding that is not tech? Here you go!

Where is the gunk coming from?(pictures)

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2011, 12:19 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Where is the gunk coming from?(pictures)

Here are a a couple pictures of the front of my engine on a 98-99 KE100. I am new to motorcycles and I don't know if this gunk is something leaking out of somewhere it shouldn't be coming out from. and also the pipe going to the engine looks like it could be tighter/closer into that spot.
For more clarification, the pictures are showing the exhaust from the engine.
1.This is from the right side of the bike.

2.This shows a close up of the gunk build up from the left side of the bike.

Thanks for looking guys !!

Last edited by GravvyTrain; 05-17-2011 at 12:46 AM.
Old 05-17-2011, 10:18 PM
1st Gear Member

Hmmmmm, I would assume since it like soming out of the exhaust it would be a leaky valve,cracked head into the exhaust, uh yeah. Clean it off real good, check for leaks.

Old 05-17-2011, 11:19 PM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member

Um, yeah, that's too much oil. Make sure your exhaust flange is snug and not cocked in the exhaust opening. Double check the torque settings on the nuts/bolts. On the other hand, it IS a 2 stroke engine, and they WILL put out a bit of oil, but this looks a bit excessive. Is the engine running rich? The exhaust port and pipe tend to "seal themselves" as the engine heats up, so when you have the pipe off the cold engine, it will be (should be) just a weensy bit loose. Are you blowing a lot of blue smoke out the exhaust, too? Might want to lighten up the ratio on your pre-mix. What does your spark plug tell you?

Last edited by jeffzx9; 05-17-2011 at 11:31 PM.
Old 05-18-2011, 12:26 AM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member