General Motorcycle Discussion Have some questions or information about riding that is not tech? Here you go!

tell me why boots are better than sneakers

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 01:02 PM
Default tell me why boots are better than sneakers

Okay so I am new to riding, and have only really spent time on a dirtbike. But I am planning on getting a street bike (Ninja 250), and I really like the idea of riding in sneakers, mainly for comfort and maneuverability. But I know that hard boots are recommended. However,I am wondering how much additional protection they provide. To me, it seems like the boots would bethicker and harder, providing better resistant against impacts and scraping in an accident. But I wonder if the difference over sneakers is enough for me to wear bootsall the time evenif I hate riding in them.

Any information or personal experience you guys can share on this would be appreciated... right now I am shopping for my gear

Old 03-19-2008, 01:15 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: tell me why boots are better than sneakers

the most important aspect of a riding shoe is that it doesn't come off untill you take it of intentionally.

sneakers tend to be worn losely and can and do come off easily then you're bare foot is dragging on asphalt.

the second is ankle support, padding, coverage. high top sneakers will stay on when laced up and they will provide some ankle support and coverage to protect your ankle bones from rubbin on the pavement. they also protect from the bike falling on it to a certain extent.

steel toed leather work boots are durable, stay on, have protectiong from impact and abrassion

actual riding boots offer all that plus usually more flex int he ankle for shifting, more heel padding incase you do summersaults and slam the back of your heel into something, and usually more shin protection.