General Motorcycle Discussion Have some questions or information about riding that is not tech? Here you go!

Gpz 900 question. Need help fast

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2009, 05:09 AM
Default Gpz 900 question. Need help fast

I COULDN'T BELIEVE IT I DID A CRAIGS LIST CHECH AND FOUND A 1985 GPZ 900 FOR SALE WITH ONLY 13,000 MILES WITH KNOW SEVERE FAIRING DAMAGE. THE DEALER SHIP WANT 1,600 FOR IT OR BEST OFFER. I DONT THINK THEY REALIZE WHAT THEY HAVE. THEY SAID IT RUNS GREAT AND HAD A MAJOR TUNE UP AND THE CARBS WERE FLUSHED WHAT EVER THAT MEANS. I WANTED ONE OF THESE BIKES SINCE I WAS A KID AND I FIRST SEEN TOP GUN. MATTER OF FACT IT IS BLACK AND RED JUST LIKE THE ONE IN THE MOVIE. IT IS ALMOST IDENTICLE.

HERES MY PROBLEM, I WANT TO RIDE BUT I HAVE NO RIDING EXPERIENCE. IS THIS TO MUCH FOR A FIRST TIME RIDER. IS IT AS DANGEROUS AS THE NEW 900'S OR IS IT A BIT MORE MANEGABLE. I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT THESE NEW SUPER SPORT BIKES ARE SCARY FAST. I WANTED TO START WITH A KAWASAKIN NINJA 25O, BUT THIS BIKE SEEMS TO GOOD TO BE TRUE. iSHOULD I BUY IT AND KEEP IT GARAGED UNTIL IM READY TO RIDE ONE. OF COURSE I WANT TO TAKE THE MOTORCYCLE SAFTY COURSE, THAT IS MY NUMBER ONE PRIORITY

I NEED SOME ADVICE, PLEASE HELP ME.

Old 08-06-2009, 05:23 AM
Old 08-06-2009, 12:23 PM
1st Gear Member

Is it too much bike? Yes. Can you learn with it? probably, but you would take a very long time to get the proper skills to really enjoy it. If its your dream bike and the price is good to you, then get it but I would really look for a 250 or 500 to start off with. On a 250 you will learn all the ins and outs of riding without feeling intimidated. The new 900's are faster, but don't let that make you fall into the false sense of security. Also, keep in mind with older bikes, it will need alot of attention. Rubber brake lines and gaskets will need attention along with other issues. Those are cool bikes. But learn how to ride before you try to take it out and pull a Top Gun and race an F-16